The same old budget is back at City Council on 7/28/2020

Heads-up, back at City Council Tues July 28, 7pm:

URGE COUNCIL TO VOTE NO ON AGENDA ITEM 8B, THE CITY BUDGET

The City will vote *again* on the proposed City Budget, the same damn budget that would give 46% of the City’s General Funds to the police department. City Manager Nyhoff has not made one single change in the budget in the month he has had to make a revisions or offer an alternative. This is Agenda item 8B. Please join me in urging the council to vote NO again on this travesty! Make some revisions or show us an alternative already!

See the agenda HERE, but watch the meeting on Zoom instead of on the City Agenda page for better performance

URGE COUNCIL TO VOTE NO ON AGENDA ITEM 8D, A SPECIAL TAX FOR POLICE

But wait, it gets even better: now City Manager Nyhoff is proposing a special tax to go on the November ballot, too. And why the tax? To give even MORE funds to the police! This is item 8D on the agenda. Please urge the Council to vote NO. BTW, even the city of Napa, far richer than us, decided against imposing a special regressive tax during the pandemic and economic shutdown, arguing that it would place an undue burden on those least able to pay.

LASTLY DURING COMMUNITY FORUM PLEASE ASK COUNCIL TO LET US SPEAK!

Somehow the City of Berkeley has managed to allow residents to speak during City Council meetings, even meetings held via Zoom. Why is Vallejo not doing this? The option of Council members supposedly “reading” our online remarks is a travesty and absolute farce. It certainly does not meet the spirit of allowing public participation, and possibly actually violates Sunshine laws. We deserve to have genuine input.

HOW TO GET YOUR COMMENTS TO CITY COUNCIL AND THE CITY MANAGER

You can email or call right now, no waiting

EMAIL:
Bob.Sampayan@cityofvallejo.net
Greg.Nyhoff@cityofvallejo.net
Hermie.Sunga@cityofvallejo.net
Hakeem.Brown@cityofvallejo.net
Robert.McConnell@cityofvallejo.net
Pippin.Dew@cityofvallejo.net
Katy.Miessner@cityofvallejo.net
Rozzana.Verder-Aliga@cityofvallejo.net

PHONE:
Mayor Bob Sampayan, (707) 648-4377
City Manager Greg Nyhoff, (707) 648-4576
Vice Mayor Hermie Sunga, (707) 648-5437
Council Member Hakeem Brown, (707) 648-4131
Council Member Pippin Dew, (707) 648-4132
Council Member Robert McConnell, (707) 648-4135
Council Member Katy Miessner, (707) 648-4133
Council Member Rozzana Verder-Aliga, (707) 648-4134

For comments on specific agenda items on the day of the City Council Meeting, there are links in the second tab of this agenda file https://vallejoca.civicclerk.com/Web/Player.aspx?id=507&key=-1&mod=-1&mk=-1&nov=0. Written comments can be submitted online starting 2 hours before the Council meeting. You can also send email to Dawn Abrahamson, the City Clerk.
Dawn.Abrahamson@cityofvallejo.net

The system is so convoluted they made a video to explain how to comment: https://vimeo.com/430097790

Thanks to Anne Carr for writing this up!